Edgecomb is a town in Lincoln County, incorporated on March 3, 1774 from Freetown Plantation. In 1828 it set off land to form the town of Westport.
It was named for the British Lord Mount Edgecomb, who had shown friendship to the Americans in the early stages of the Revolution.
Fort Edgecomb, built in 1808-09 on Davis Island in the Sheepscot River opposite Wiscasset, was built by Major Moses Porter who had served in the Revolution and was an engineer. It is octagonal, two stories high with an upper overhang.
Overlooking the Sheepscot Rover and the Narrows at the entrance to Wiscasset Harbor, its watchtower has a 360 degree view of the water and surrounding countryside.
Located on Route 27 between Wiscasset and Boothbay, the town is bounded by the Damariscotta River on the east and the Sheepscot on the west.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)
Additional Amenities & Services: Please call or visit our website
Local Attractions: See our website for a list of attractions near our business.
* This business may or may not have specials that are not advertised on our website.
Click on the above link to visit the Edgecomb Maine website
for current special offers and more information about Edgecomb Maine.
Please mention eTravelMaine.com when contacting this business.