Standish is a town in Cumberland County, settled in 1750 and incorporated on November 30, 1785 from Pearsontown Plantation.
Named in honor of Captain Miles Standish, the military leader of the Plymouth Colony, the town has a very long shoreline on Sebago Lake in its southwest corner, including its Lower Bay. The Saco River defines its western boundary.
Both a recreational area and suburb of Portland, the town is served by Maine Routes 11, 25, 25A, 35, 35A, 114 and 237.
The historic Daniel Marrett House was the storage place for coins from Portland banks in anticipation of a British attack in 1812.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)
Additional Amenities & Services: Please call or visit our website
Local Attractions: See our website for a list of attractions near our business.
* This business may or may not have specials that are not advertised on our website.
Click on the above link to visit the Standish Maine website
for current special offers and more information about Standish Maine.
Please mention eTravelMaine.com when contacting this business.