|South Thomaston Maine
South Thomaston is a town in Knox County, settled in 1719 and incorporated on July 28, 1848 from a portion of Thomaston. In 1865 it annexed land from St. George, and in 1921 ceded some land to Owl's Head.
The town lies on the Weskeag River, which broadens into several large coves before emptying into the Muscle Ridge Channel. Spruce Head Island juts into the channel for over a mile.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)