Farmington, a town in Franklin County and the seat of county government, incorporated on February 1, 1794 from Sandy River Plantation.
It later annexed land from Industry in 1850 and from Strong in 1853.
From its initial development as a trading center in the late 18th century, the village experienced rapid growth through the period of the Civil War.
Settled in 1776 and truly a farming town for many years, its original population centered around Farmington Falls Village, located five miles south of the current main village.
The worst fire in the town's history virtually wiped out the main village on October 22, 1886, leveling 33 houses, 19 stores, 3 churches, 2 hotels, the county jail, and the post office, among others. Much had been rebuilt within the next two years.
Farmington now boasts a highly rated small college: the University of Maine branch at Farmington.
The town is also a gateway to the Rangeley Lakes region and to the Sugarloaf ski area.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)
Additional Amenities & Services: Please call or visit our website
Local Attractions: See our website for a list of attractions near our business.
* This business may or may not have specials that are not advertised on our website.
Click on the above link to visit the Farmington Maine website
for current special offers and more information about Farmington Maine.
Please mention eTravelMaine.com when contacting this business.