Sangerville is a town in Piscataquis County, settled in 1803 and incorporated on June 13, 1814 from the township T4 R6 NWP.
It later ceded land to Guilford in 1889.
Though called Amestown for its earliest settler, Phineas Ames, upon incorporation it gave homage to its early proprietor, Colonel Calvin Sanger of Sherborn, Massachusetts.
Bronze plaques mark the birthplaces of inventor Sir Hiram S. Maxim and mining tycoon Sir Harry Oakes, apparently a descendent of the Oakes family that had moved there by 1808.
Sangerville has been a small lumbering and agricultural community for most of its history. Adjacent to Guilford, its main village is just south of the Piscataquis River, which forms its northern boundary.
Maine Route 23 passes through on its way from Guilford to Dexter. Center Pond, a recreational area, is indeed in the center of the township.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)
Additional Amenities & Services: Please call or visit our website
Local Attractions: See our website for a list of attractions near our business.
* This business may or may not have specials that are not advertised on our website.
Click on the above link to visit the Sangerville Maine website
for current special offers and more information about Sangerville Maine.
Please mention eTravelMaine.com when contacting this business.