Veazie is a town in Penobscot County, incorporated on March 26, 1853 from the seventh ward of Bangor, then ceded some land back to that city in 1889.
Named, and likely created, for General Samuel Veazie who owned the saw mills and most of the property in the new town. He also owned the Veazie Bank and several railroads in the area.
At only 3.4 square miles in area, Veazie is one of the smallest municipalities in the state. U.S. Route 2 is also its Main Street.
The Penobscot River Restoration Project, announced in October of 2003, calls for the demolition of the Veazie dam, owned by Pennsylvania Power and Light. This, along with dismantling the Great Works dam up the river in Old Town, will allow Atlantic Salmon to move further upstream and, proponents hope, strengthen that fishery.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)
Additional Amenities & Services: Please call or visit our website
Local Attractions: See our website for a list of attractions near our business.
* This business may or may not have specials that are not advertised on our website.
Click on the above link to visit the Veazie Maine website
for current special offers and more information about Veazie Maine.
Please mention eTravelMaine.com when contacting this business.