Settled in 1762, its name derives from Blue Hill, altitude 940 feet, just north of the town's main settlement. Blue Hill Falls and East Blue Hill are other settlements within the town.
Mary Ellen Chase, a writer reflecting local culture and history, was born in the town in 1887. Among her works are A Goodly Heritage and Mary Peters. Her biography of Jonathan Fisher (1768-1847) chronicles the life of this remarkably versatile and energetic . . . scholar, artist, craftsman and farmer who brought culture and dignity to a frontier village in the wilderness. (Issacson, p. 345) The Jonathan Fisher House he designed and built is one of the town's major assets and is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The old Blue Hill Academy, now an American Legion Post, has long since been replaced by the George Stevens Academy, the town's high school. The home of many fine older structures, the 1815 Holt House is now the residence of the Blue Hill Historical Society.
More recently, Blue Hill was the original site of Northeast Historic Film, a film archive and preservation center now located in the old Alamo Theater in Bucksport.
The town is a fast growing coastal community, leaping in population by over 23% from 1990 to 2000.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)