Limerick is a town in York County, incorporated on March 6, 1787 from Limerick Plantation. It annexed land from Limington in 1870.
It was settled by whites in 1775 on the old Pequaket Trail, a way station used by the Sokoki Indians traveling between the Saco River and Pequaket (Fryeburg). The community held its first town meeting twelve years later in McDonald's Inn.
James Sullivan, one the original proprietors, named in the town after Limerick, Ireland, the birthplace of his father. James was an active patriot during the Revolutionary War, Governor of Massachusetts, and the first historian of Maine with the publication of The History of the District of Maine in 1795.
The main village stands at the junction of Maine Routes 5, 11 and 160 sixteen miles north of Alfred.
From Maine: An Encyclopedia (www.themaineencyclopedia.com)
Additional Amenities & Services: Please call or visit our website
Local Attractions: See our website for a list of attractions near our business.
* This business may or may not have specials that are not advertised on our website.
Click on the above link to visit the Limerick Maine website
for current special offers and more information about Limerick Maine.
Please mention eTravelMaine.com when contacting this business.